Mute button allows you to mute all the nonsense happening around
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

You can’t Mute Family in Real Life!

Pallavi Agarwal
3 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Many young adults hopped up on free spirit, dream of getting away from their family, to go experiment and live on their own terms! Of course, not everyone. But for the select few, the freedom from constant worrying, nagging or just random advice means the world in some handful moments.

When I entered college, I felt that freedom flowing through me. The thrill of independent decision making, the non judgmental friendships, no curfew night-outs, brought out a confident side of me I never imagined possible.

I enjoyed tons of moments of freedom. But it felt incomplete when conflict struck with besties or at work; when I had to make life altering decisions, or when I had to celebrate my accomplishments or mourn over my losses.

It was family that I missed in those moments. Why? That’s what I wanted to get away from.

When the pandemic hit, I resorted to being with family. That’s when family reentered my life. But this time around it was different. They probably treated me differently because I was an adult, or I an adult had grown up to have a different perspective towards them. I saw a different fun yet annoying side of them. Still frustrating though. Being closely attached to them during the pandemic brought joys in many moments, and reminded me of all the reasons why I couldn’t wait to be away from them.

--

--